Wineries throughout the country will now be able to ship wine directly to New Jersey residents for the first time. The law also allows for licensed retail establishments to open tasting rooms in New Jersey, provided they obtain the necessary license issued by the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). The new license was signed by New Jersey governor, Chris Christie, in January of 2012 ends nearly 9 years of litigation and legislative debate over direct shipping.
Attorney General Jeffrey Chiesa said, “New Jersey residents will now have another convenient way to purchase the excellent wines offered by our many fine Garden State wineries, as well as wineries throughout the country.”
Eligibility for an “Out-of-State Winery License” will require that the winery already possess a current and valid winery license issued by another state. The winery also must not produce more than 250,000 gallons per year and shall now own any interest in a winery that produces more than 250,000. Furthermore, the winery may only ship products it has actually manufactured and cannot be a middleman. The law also requires that all products shipped and sold are brand registered in NJ. Shipments are limited to no more than 12 cases per year, per person (21 years of age or older), for personal consumption only. Applicants for the license will pay an annual fee ranging from $63 to $938 depending on yearly production.
If you are considering buying or selling a liquor license in Monmouth County or Ocean County, call the experienced NJ ABC lawyers of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. today for a consultation. Located in Point Pleasant Beach, the attorneys of Villani & DeLuca, P.C. will answer all of your liquor license question. Call (732) 540-1233 today.